Win a Sewfunky Organic Baby Sling!

April 5, 2009

update April 22nd 12:00 pm

~*~ Happy Earth Day Mama’s ~*~

Thank you everyone for all the great babywearing comments!

The contest is closed so stay tuned to hear who won!

update : The winner is Kaycee!

Congratulations!  Your number was drawn through a random number generator!

Please contact me through my website to make arrangements for your new Sewfunky Sling!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

In celebration of Spring I am going to have a contest for a free Sewfunky Organic Cotton Adjustable Baby Sling.

Sewfunky Baby Slings 2009

 To enter please leave a comment on this blog entry about one of the many amazing benefits of  ‘babywearing’ 

 Don’t forget to leave your email in the post so I am able to contact you or check back on the draw date.  Entries will be accepted until Earth Day, April 22nd, 2009 at noon and I will draw names from a hat, later that day.

  This give-away is open to everyone!

Please feel free to pass on the news for a chance to win!

Join the Sewfunky Fan Page on Facebook  to be in the loop for updates on all of our great products and events!  We love to see your pictures of happy babies in their Sewfunky Slings!

Good Luck & Happy Spring

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

85 Responses to “Win a Sewfunky Organic Baby Sling!”

  1. Dawn Says:

    I’d love to win a sling! My baby is 21 mos and STILL loves to be carried around!

  2. Angie Says:

    My baby is 11 months now and loves her sling, with one minor exception… Daddy must be the one wearing it. Nothin’ makes her happier than a spring stroll with daddy, looking about and playing with his beard hair (to her that’s the best part). Felt a little rejected at first, but now find it pretty darn cute to see daddy and baby strutting around both proud as peacocks… Would love to win a new one! Fingers crossed…

  3. Rachel Pridham Says:

    There is something to be said about the easy of chasing around a toddler while wearing the younger sibling! LOL We had a stretchy wrap and my babe is too heavy for it now it seems so would love to be entered to win a sling!

  4. Kristina Says:

    I loved carrying my second daughter in a sling – I only wish I had discovered them sooner, with my first. We used a Baby Bjorn early on, but she hated it, and so did my back! My sling was so much more versatile (and looked cool too!). We still use it the odd time (she never wants to be carried now), and will be using one (or more!) for #3 when they come

  5. Willow Says:

    I think wearing your baby is amazing….my son never wanted to be laid down as a babe, and a sling allowed me the freedom to get things done around the house whilst holding him close. I am expecting a baby girl in May, and think a sling will be essential to caring for my now 4-year-old without abandoning the baby. A free one would be great!

  6. Kerry Says:

    I have a 2.5 yr old daughter. Neither her or my 4 yr old son enjoy the stroller anymore. She is still to young to walk great distances so she is often carried in a back pack on daddy, I will try to carry her in that but she is too heavy. I also have a heart 2 heart sling. I find it very uncomfortable and hard to use with her. These slings look like they would so easy to use and very convenient. They appear to have greater options of wearing unlike the one I have now.

  7. Kim Smith Says:

    I have been curious about trying a sling but have leary about spending the money only to have my son hate it. I have heard many wonderful things about them but do not know of anyone using one.

  8. Melissa Says:

    I wish I had discovered sling type carries with my daughter who is now 3, she hated the Snugli and we had to miss alot of events that weren’t stroller friendly. I know that having a good carrier will make life so much easier now having a 5 month old and chasing a toddler around. I also find it easier for nursing in public.

  9. Jamie Says:

    I’d love to win! Sooo many benefits to wearing your baby…the best one is keeping him/her close to your heart🙂 Also…when baby number two comes around, I’m looking forward to wearing him/her and having some hands for my toddler still available!!

  10. Patricia Says:

    I have one for my children and loved the bond it created with them to me and my husband. I would love one for a family member who is due anytime with her first baby. Want her to experience the same bonding that I did with this item.

  11. Jennifer Says:

    I love your slings.. and would love another one.. !!

  12. MamaLisa Says:

    My Sewfunky sling (that I bought last Spring) was probably the best purchase in my babe’s first year. He just turned one (sniff sniff) and we still use it every chance we get. We’re both happiest when he’s in my arms in the sling, and it has been invaluable while living in an apartment building. I can’t imagine Motherhood without it. Alekzandr and I would love another beautiful sling to wear around town. I’m constantly amazed by how many people comment on me wearing my son. I’m sure wearing a toddler will get us LOTS more attention!

  13. Melanie Says:

    Slings make standing in line at Walt Disney World sooooo much easier! And, they garner lots of compliments where ever you go!!

    My toddler is much more interested in running around now, but you can bet when #2 comes along, we’ll be using the sling daily!!

  14. Rachel Says:

    Baby-wearing is great! As a newborn, my baby fell asleep in it within minutes, and now, she LOVES walks in them. A huge added bonus is they’re so easy to pack ~ they take up WAY less space than a stroller🙂 I have 3 sis-in-laws excpecing in the next 2 months, I’d love have a sling for them to baby-wear!

  15. Rachel Says:

    What could be better than wearing your baby so close to your heart? I love it!
    rkingma@sympatico.ca

  16. jenniffer frizzell Says:

    Love them, love them, love them!
    My husband and I are going to try for our last😦 baby this summer and I recently gave my ring sling to a family member for her 1st baby, so now I am ringslingless. I will purchase another, but to win one would be awsome! The sling created such a wonderful bond between me and my youngest son, I reallly wish I had one with my 1st.

  17. pauline Says:

    hey tanja – would love to win a ring sling… really not loving the one i have (just not user friendly at all!) and you KNOW i LOVE all your stuff! hoping you are doing ok! what are your park days now??? we need to hook up!
    take care!
    luv p

  18. pauline Says:

    ps – my friend loves the pouch i bought for her! thanks again!

  19. Sherry Says:

    What is not to love about wearing your baby!?! It was the only way I got anything accomplished with my first, they are so much easier to tote along than a big stroller and now baby #2 loves it too! Makes chasing a 2 year old and caring for a baby that much easier with both hands free! And the best part is creating that awesome closeness b/t you and baby……and the compliments when out and about are great too! Would LOVE to win a new one!

  20. Fred Miller Says:

    My daughters love these

  21. CC Says:

    Aside from the already stated benefits of having your baby so close, I have to say that from a practical standpoint carriers are also way more cost effective than most strollers today! Love Sewfunky!!

  22. Leslie Austin Says:

    Baby wearing has saved me! I still wear my 21 month old in the pouch sling that you made for me when Wyatt was born! He loves it, and it is great to be able to save space by not having the stroller. I also now use the sling (as well as my other carriers) with my infant son. Baby wearing has allowed me to be the fun go anywhere Mom my toddler has become accustomed to, while being the snuggly Mom my infant needs.
    Cheers,
    Leslie

  23. Giovanna Says:

    I started babywearing about 6 months ago…and haven’t looked back since! I only wish that I would have known more about BW back when my son was little….but have made sure to educate as many friends as I can at this point. Of everything I have tried, I have to say that the ring sling is my favorite and easiest for me to use. I used it almost daily for my 10 month old who is almost 25 lbs, and loves to be carried. I have never tried a sewfunky but would LOVE to as they look awesome and I’ve heard good things about them on TBW.
    Thanks!
    Amy

  24. Kim Says:

    I have loved every minute wearing my almost 3 year old. It has made so many things easier for us since there are just some places that a stroller won’t go. We are expecting twins in August and can’t wait to wear them too. Thank goodness my husband sees the benefits of babywearing too@!

  25. Lisa Says:

    Babywearing is a lifesaver in our house. I have a 4 year old, 2 year old, and 9 month old. The littlest one LOVES to be held, which sometimes is really hard to do with two older kids! Babywearing lets me snuggle her while still chasing after the others.

  26. Rachael Says:

    We love babywearing. Slings, and our ergo have been THE BEST!

    Travelling with slings and such is much smarter that dragging a stroller around. What would we have done on the tube in London or on the beach in Florida without babywearing? Our sling and ergo have joined us all over the world!

    Other than the obvious uses, we especially love how a sling smells like mommy and can calm a fussy child when used as a blanket in the car, or to entertain a toddler with a game of peek-a-boo.

    Thanks Tanja for making beautiful slings!

  27. Jennifer Says:

    Hey Tanja! I love your slings! I love using my sling and wrap carrier in situations where a stroller doesn’t fit. I went to the market the other weekend, and totally regretted bringing the stroller when we went inside the buildings (and was crazy to at noon on a Saturday in St. Jacob’s LOL). We also found a walking trail to the Grand River near our house with a big hill that a stroller won’t go up/down and I’m going to use the sling/wrap to walk it! Would love to win one of your gorgeous slings!🙂

  28. Selene Quinn Says:

    Babywearing saved my sanity in the first year of my son’s life…he would not go in a stroller and he wouldn’t go to sleep without ALOT of motion. I slinged him to sleep till he was almost 30lbs! I’m pregnant with my second, due at the end of May, and desperately want a sling that fits ME properly (made the mistake last time of getting one to fit my much, much larger husband). Your slings look great!

  29. River Says:

    The best thing about babywearing is having an excuse not to pass the baby off to strangers at a party. My daughter would always cry when people tried to hold her right away. It was nice to be able to say “Sorry, she’s all strapped in right now!” Do I win???

  30. Heather Says:

    Not a Mom yet, but I’ve heard plenty of good things about slings. I’ll definitely buy one when the time comes!

    (heatherathomeinthetownships @ gmail.com)

  31. Vanessa Says:

    I love my sling. Still haven’t gotten the hang of nursing in it but it allows me to go shopping with my 3yr old and 9wk old without leaving her in the carseat which she hates. I just take her out of the carseat and pop her in the sling and I have a hand free for my son.

  32. Mishu Says:

    The very best thing about babywearing is time management. I really don’t know how non-slinging mothers do it — I have two children, 9 months and not quite two years. When I think of all the times I could give attention and closeness to my children when they needed it and STILL cook dinner or clean something or just go for walk … slings are just parental sanity savers sometimes.

  33. Betsy Says:

    I love wearing my little one on errands…..I see those poor moms with strollers, etc. and I’m in and out of the store before they even begin to get situated. I also love the bond that it has created between my son and I.🙂

  34. Megan Says:

    I can’t wait to wear my next baby! I didn’t really get into babywearing until my son was 10 months old so I’m excited to get to do all of the newborn holds!

    My favorite babywearing memory- the first time I ever used my wrap and we were walking on the beach and he nursed in it and fell asleep.🙂

  35. Julia Says:

    Slings are wonderful for babies of all ages. I love mine and would always welcome an addition.

  36. Malomar Says:

    I still carry my almost-3-year-old around in the sling sometimes. It is the greatest thing!

  37. Robyn Says:

    One of the greatest things about babywearing is being stylish with fun, funky slings!!! I LOVE to collect slings🙂 Carrying babe cozy at the grocery store, the mall, in the park, at Target, is so much better for mommy and baby than the heavy, plastic car seat.

  38. Kristen Says:

    My daughter turned two last month and I still carry my ring-sling around with us EVERYWHERE. We use it on almost every trip and we love love love it. The ability to snuggle close with your sweet baby while, say, shopping?!?! You can NOT beat that!! And I only have one so my fingers are crossed!!!


  39. My daughter is 2.5 years old and still worn almost every day. Today I wore her in a mei tai for the long walk through a parking lot and tonight I wore her in her custom Beatles ring sling. Slings are such such a fantastic way to hold a toddler on your hip without breaking your arm! LOL They’re great for snuggles, too.

    I’d love to try one of your slings😉 I’ve heard of them, but have never used one yet.

  40. Crystal Says:

    My baby is 14 months old now and we’ve got another on the way, as well as a almost 3 year old. I could not handle life without my sling! I put the baby on my back and then when my toddler gets tired I can carry him too. My husband loves it because he can take both kids fishing and hiking and not worry with the baby on his back he can still keep up with A. And since my husband works out of town Monday to Friday, I wouldn’t be able to grocery shop with a soon to be newborn and two toddlers because there would be no room left in the cart for any food!

  41. Anju Wilson Says:

    I found this blog through Mothering.com. I don’t have any children of my own but always knew I would wear my baby if I ever have one. Well, I have the opportunity to take care of a friends baby (12 week old) and she is extremely fussy, just wants to be held and rocked. So, I think my search for the right gear has just been sped up. I think it would be beneficial to both (baby and mine) our sanity!!

  42. Tamika Says:

    I adored slinging my babes and am now looking forward to slinging another babe due in September….I wish I still HAD my slings, but alas gave them away when we decided we were ‘done’! LOL I loved how I always had a hand free to help my other children and babe felt so secure next to me! Always a comfort to me and babe!

  43. Andrea Says:

    My favorite benefit is that I can keep my baby close and they get to see things from our point of view instead of from down on the floor. And I feel SOOO much better about wearing my baby while doing work around the house than about just plunking baby down and leaving her there while I do my work. This way I feel like I can spend time with my baby AND work…the best of both worlds!🙂

    andraya3 at yahoo dot com

  44. Lindsey Says:

    I love the idea of bonding more with your baby, and that the baby will cry less!

  45. Crystal Says:

    I love wearing my 8 1/2 month old in a Mei Tai or a wrap. It leaves my hands free to carry stuff, hold my 5 year olds hand while we walk to school. It is amazing for getting her to sleep when she is too overwhelmed by everything going on around her. I wrap her up and within minutes she’s sleeping no matter where we are.

  46. Anne Says:

    I loved “wearing” my babies. I’m a mushy kind of girl; I enjoyed feeling their breathing, I enjoyed the warmth, I enjoyed their smell, and closeness. I’m sure they enjoyed the experience just as much if not more than I lol

    Thanks very much, these slings are beautiful!

  47. Amy P. Says:

    My sister just had a baby and wants a sling sooo bad. she has 3 other kids so she is always running around. would love to win this for her.

  48. Tara Says:

    I love slings, and use my ring sling all the time. It was especially important for my babies first 6 months when she had awful reflux. The only thing that would calm her down was being bounced or carried chest to chest in the sling. I honestly don’t know how we could of survived without it. I would love to win one of your lovely slings for my sister who is expecting this summer. I want to introduce her to the wonders of baby wearing🙂
    thanks so much

  49. gina Says:

    I am just happy that someone will win a sling because that means one happy baby!

  50. Yasmine O. Says:

    Wherever i go, i see parents with babies and toddler in slings and since then i have been wanting one for my twins. What better way to bond than being close to your little one? My daughter and son both love being held. With a sling i could go for a walk and bond/spend alone time with each of my toddlers. Also, instead of taking my double stroller when walking to the park, i could put mydaughter in a sling- and push my son in a light umbrella stroller. I really love all the patterns you have pictured- they are all so nice, i think my favorite is the espresso brown w/ teal stripes.
    I will be telling the soon to be moms i know about your store- its nice to know your products are made here in Canada =]
    Thanks for the opportunity!
    Yasmineo142@hotmail.com

  51. Krystyn Says:

    Sling help to decrease colic and make for a happier baby! Plus, you can do things like cook and play with your older kids while keeping the younger one content.

  52. Andrea Says:

    I absolutely love babywearing. I love the closes for you and your baby. How your baby isn’t left laying around when you have other children that need to be tended too. It always soothed my daughter and makes it easy to nurse in public. I would absolutely love to win this! Thanks.

    mommainflipflops AT gmail.com

  53. Jenn Says:

    I have a 35lb, 2 and a half year old, who totally reverts to being a sling baby when he’s sick. Carrying him in the sling, rather than perching him on my hip is SO much easier! I’d love to give one of your slings a try!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  54. Pam Says:

    I’m finding the benefits of babywearing with my 2nd child are even more plentiful! When she’s cuddled close to me, she is happy. When she’s happy, it enables me to give my nearly 3 yr. old some undivided attention which makes him happy as well. 2 happy kids makes for a happy mommy! It also frees up my hands to enable me to do things I need to get done such as eating dinner, brushing my teeth, etc.


  55. I’m expecting twins in a couple of weeks. Babywearing was hugely important to me when I just had ONE baby – I can only imagine that it’s one of the few things that will get me through with TWO babies😉

  56. Krista Says:

    I’d love to win a sling!! I’m due in June with baby 1 and am excited about babywearing!

  57. Hailey Says:

    A amazing benefit of babywearing… hands free cooking. It never fails, at dinner time… Emma starts screaming. She wants to be held. Thank God for a sling. It allows me to still have 2 hands to work with AND hold Em.
    Your slings are beautiful!

  58. Kari Says:

    I’d also love to win a sling! It would be great to be able to tuck my son into one and still be able to chase after my two-year-old!

  59. Laurel Says:

    One of the big benefits of babywearing for me was it was the only way to soothe my colicky baby when he was very young. Now that he’s nearly 2, we still enjoy a ride in the sling for special cuddle/reconnecting time after work & daycare.

    Great giveaway!

  60. Michele F Says:

    Slings are great when you have a baby and a preschooler. Your hands are available to help cross streets on walks and you can go to the park and not worry about the soft spring ground.

  61. Mandy F Says:

    My daughter and I adore baby wearing. She gets to see the world while riding close to mommy. I get to have my hands free. Most of the time I have them wrapped around my little one, but it is also handy to have them free to buy groceries, plant seeds, walk the dog, and other chores.
    We are frequently stopped by admirers who think that slings/wraps look comfortable. Every adult seems to wish they could be carried like that.

  62. Kelly Says:

    I am working on baby #3, and it’s fine now that she’s inside but when she’s outside it will be interesting to chase my other 2 toddlers. A few of my friends have slings and I am so hoping to get one for my 3rd, they are so convenient!
    I can’t believe I didn’t know about them for #1 and #2 either…I’m sure they would have saved me many a sore shoulder!

  63. Ellen Says:

    free hands🙂 with other young children around, it’s nice to have free hands to help them out while ‘holding’ your baby at the same time🙂

  64. Amy R Says:

    I used my Bamboo Panda Wrap until my daughter Charlie was 7 months old then I bought a Storchenweige wrap and I still carry her now at 16 months, mind you she is a lightweight at 20lbs. It has definitely helped us bond, I love the feeling of her snuggled close, and on those days when all she wants is Mommy it is awesome to have a hands free way of holding her close and getting stuff done at the same time:) Sewfunky Slings rock and in my opinion you cannot have too many:)

  65. Rachel Says:

    I’d love to win a sling. Babywearing is calming for the baby and provides security for him.

  66. Andreah Says:

    I like that babywearing makes the baby more content and feel more secure. I used to wear both my boys and that is the only way they would get to sleep.

  67. Kelly S Says:

    My husband and I loved our Bamboo Panda Wrap when our daughter was small – she felt so safe and secure next to us that she often fell asleep in it (happily sleeping baby = happy parents!).
    kskinner@uwaterloo.ca

  68. erin Says:

    I would love to get a sling. I have read nothing but good things about them.. there are so many benefits to both mom and baby.

  69. dreamer Says:

    I feel like it develops a closer bond with my son and keeps him safe.

  70. rajee Says:

    Love to try one of the amazing products. Cool giveaway.

  71. Kim Says:

    It frees your hands! nuff said

  72. Sharon Says:

    Wearing my son is sometimes the only thing that settles him during those cranky, before dinner times…I only wish that I had known to do that earlier since he was 20lbs when I started wearing him. He is far more interactive on walks when I’m wearing him than when he is facing away from me in the stroller.

  73. Marlena U. Says:

    I love how babywearing fosters close bonding while giving busy mommies the opportunity to multi-task! 🙂 m_huston(at)hotmail(dot)com

  74. Lisa Says:

    My son loves to be held so he loves being in a sling. I find it to be one of the fastest ways to get him to fall asleep!

  75. jenny Says:

    I get to save my arms and cuddle my baby at the same time!
    I’m convinced my son sleeps better at night due to a couple of hours of baby wearing. People keep telling me not to hold him too much. But secretly I think they are jealous because they didn’t hold their kids enough :o)
    Even my hubby wears the baby. As with the previous poster above, I think people don’t like to see us wearing baby because they can’t wait to snatch baby out of our arms!!!

  76. julia Says:

    I love your slings and since Althea refuses to walk anywhere I would love one!!

    Happy Spring!!

  77. Kaycee Says:

    I would say the amazing calmness a baby receives when he is seamlessly transitioned from womb to cradled in a sling. I imagine it’s much more pleasurable than being plopped in an outward facing stroller! I would love to have one of your slings for my new baby due in August! Thanks for the chance.

    fitforachild at gmail dot com

  78. Wendy Says:

    I loved wearing my son in lots of different types of carriers … I found that it was about the only thing that would calm him when he was really young. We are expecting our 2nd baby in August and I’d love to have a new sling to try out with him!!🙂

  79. Jen Says:

    I like having my hands free and baby close by and happy! 🙂

    Thanks!

    Jen
    jennifergraceplus4(at)gmail(dot)com

  80. serenanog Says:

    I love babywearing because I can see how my daughter reacts to different things. She always feels safe, and, as a result, she’s always very calm and secure. Plus, it’s fun to be able to snuggle!

  81. Jen M Says:

    I love that babywearing keeps me close to my little one. I can chase my 3 year old son around and my 6 month old daughter doesn’t miss out on any of the action. She always is happy when she is being held and when I baby wear, it just frees up my hands to play with her and my son!

  82. Nicole Says:

    I would love to win a sling to keep my 14.5 month old close, even tho she thinks she is a big girl now. Your Product’s are beautiful! You are very talented.

  83. Annmarie Says:

    I absolutely love the closeness that baby wearing provides! It allows Mama to do whatever needs to be done, while baby still feels that loving protection of being with Mama! My own children are 9 & 6 now, but my SIL had her 1st baby in Feb and I’d for her to have a sling!

  84. leah Says:

    Babywearing is a great way for mother & baby to bond!

  85. Kaycee Says:

    I really cant believe I won! Thank you so much- you have gorgeous slings! I emailed you back!

    -Kaycee


Leave a Reply

