Fake vs Real Amber – Salt Water Test

January 14, 2013

Real vs FakeThe salt water test.

Real vs Fake
The salt water test.

I’ve seen the topic come up lately a lot on facebook and I thought I would put our amber to the test.
One of the simplest ways to test amber for authenticity is the ‘Salt Water Test’
Take 2 cups warm water and add 1/4 cup salt and stir until well dissolved.  Place loose amber beads in the salt water solution and if they are real they will float at the top.  To compare I also filled a glass with warm water with no salt and tried the amber there, it immediately sank to the bottom.

I was still curious (I love science!)  So i took 2 small red plastic Legos and put them in the solution.  They behaved opposite to the amber, sinking in the salt water and floating in the regular water.

The downfall to doing this test on your own necklace is that the wet silk string and plastic screw may make it sink a little bit so it works best with loose beads.  But you will still be able to notice a dramatic difference between the two even with an intact necklace.

Using necklaces vs loose beads.

Using necklaces vs loose beads.

I’m sure there is a lot of fake amber out there, but it’s likely the very expensive pieces that often have insects inside of them that sell for hundreds of dollars in comparison to the tiny beads used for teething necklaces.

At Sewfunky I am proud to sell genuine Baltic Amber for you and your little ones, you can read more about how it works on our website.

Baltic Amber Teething Necklaces

Baltic Amber Teething Necklaces

One Response to “Fake vs Real Amber – Salt Water Test”

  1. Lia Joy Says:

    Thank you so much for posting this! The pictures were really helpful, too. I read that real amber will smell piney if you heat test it and that plastic will smell “obvious” but I’ve been testing my daughter’s necklace and one I got for my nephew, trying to figure out if they are real & I found the smell very subtle and even a little similar to plastic…. But they passed the float test!! Thanks🙂


Leave a Reply

